Age 14-16

An international passport to progression and success

An independent, responsible, determined and reflective learner.

Year 9 and 10 students benefit from a broad and balanced programme delivered through the Cambridge IGCSE curriculum.

The Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds, attracting almost 500,000 entries from 144 different countries every year. It is taught as a two-year course beginning in Year 9 and culminating in external examinations in Year 10. In some subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making the IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Students can enter examinations at the most appropriate level for them, a level which can differ for different subjects. The core curriculum is based on an overview of the subject and is suitable for students expected to achieve grades C to G. The extended curriculum is more challenging and designed for those expected to achieve grades A* to E. This is in line with the school’s focus on differentiation and students can choose either stream according to their ability.

The IGCSE offers a flexible course of study that gives candidates the freedom to choose subjects that are right for them, whilst providing them with a broad knowledge base and lifelong skills. It develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness

Our students are required to study seven compulsory subjects (Science, English, Maths, Language) and three additional electives (The Arts, Humanities, Technology, Physical Education) but have the choice of selecting the streams of subjects at IGCSE.